Aches & pains

Hi guys just wondering if anyone can offer any advice. Been playing now for approximately 6 weeks.
Doing well with my weight loss, enjoy the footie met lots of nice people.

My problem is it takes me a week to recover maybe longer, I’m really struggling with groin strains at the moment.

Is it worth carrying on playing the footie, knowing full well it’s going to take ages to recover. I played football previously at a good standard, granted not played for at least 10 years. So I know I’m bound to ache. But my groin injury is a worry for me. Seen the physiotherapy twice

Thanks for taking the time to read this

What advice has the physio gave? Thats what I’d start with

Maybe see if specific stretches can help with the strain if its consistently the same region (but don’t neglect the rest of your warm up)

Have you tried compression shorts or tights when playing?

I’m no expert but I personally know if I don’t warm up properly nowadays I’m in trouble the next few days

Just on warming up. I played football last year for a good while. Got good stretching in before game. Had a break of 3 months. Played again didn’t stretch anywhere near what I should and my knee dislocated on me. Haven’t kicked a ball since October.

Are you enjoying it? If so then carry on. To me exercise is all about doing something you enjoy.

You probably need some expert advice on the aches and pains but it sounds like something that can be overcome with warm up, warm down and some simple stretching/strength exercises during the week. i.e. It doesn’t sound like a permanent injury.

I’ve had a couple of pains from my cycling but been amazed how finding the right exercise and doing it for a while has eliminated the pain.