Kids DIY computer kit

So I came across this from a youtube add. Normally I just sit, and wait for them to simply give me the pass button (typically with a frown). But this one caught my eye. I followed the add, and found something which I thought would be a great idea. And I thought I’d share.

https://kano.me/ is a site, that has kits to teach kids how to assemble their own computers, and how to do some basic programming. I’m a network tech, so I work with computers all day. And I think this is a marvelous idea! Help the next generation learn some basic computer skills, or even some adults get some basic knowledge under their belts.

I hope this helps someone!

3 Likes

Ta! We’re getting our eldest a pi for Xmas so I’m sure this will come in handy for ideas & bolt-ons

1 Like

We’ve got a Pi and a Kano (the Kano is a slightly modded version of the Pi) and they’re both brilliant. I have to say that the Kano is definitely better for our ages (7 and 10) as it has a lot more guided learning around the pure tech.

1 Like

Question - how does your 7 yo get on with it? Do they need a lot of help, or are they able to pick it up okay?

The Kano and Pi are the BBC Micro of the 21st century. I love how my youngest just flirts between Linux on the Pi, MacOS, and then Windows at school.

3 Likes

Thats awesome! We need more people familiar with linux.

What distro do they use on the PI?

On Fri night we had a note from school informing us that they were starting a Raspberry Pi course in a few weeks. Perfect! Although I am starting to feel like my granddad in terms of the speed tech is changing and the stuff that kids are now able to do.

1 Like

Raspbian, which I assume is a derivative of Debian. Other distros also work, though.

His role is to watch over his older brother’s shoulder, so he’s fine.

1 Like

This is excellent, you’ve just found the Xmas present I’m getting my son. He’s 14, will this be too easy for him? Is this for younger kids?