Paralyzed and overweight

Hi, all. I’m a noob here. I’m interested to see if the site can help me with a so-far intractable problem of being overweight.

I weigh about 190 (it’s difficult to weigh myself) and I’m about 5" 7". I’m 70 years old. I’m paralyzed from the sternum down and I’m in pretty much constant pain. Unfortunately there are only two things that help the pain: heavy doses of opioids and eating.

Since I’m in a wheelchair I can’t play football. There is a wheelchair basketball league in the neighborhood, but I’m way too fat and old to join them. The only exercise I get is pushing myself along the road or on a boardwalk.

Before I got sick I was very active in marathons and climbing. I swam the English Channel. Now, maybe, I could float across the Channel with a boat pulling me. I don’t think I’d feel the cold with all my fatty insulation.

I’ve tried dieting, but I end up adding weight instead of losing it. I’d be grateful for any ideas. Thanks

Hello and welcome. I am really sorry to hear about situation. All I can suggest is the diet way. Don’t go a diet, but regulate your intake. You need to look at what calorie amount you need to consume in order to lose weight and try your best to follow it.

I am no expert and I have no medical knowledge or anything so that is about all I can offer. Stay here and keep in touch though mate, you are at the right site for help.

Sorry to hear about all the barriers thrown at you, and secondly well done on battling on all that, your here and wanting to make changes, thats a difficult and tricky first step to make but inportant.