Starting to run

Today I went for my first run in many years. I really found out how unfit I am. I only managed 150 m. Oh well I have to start somewhere I suppose!

Amazing, who cares how far, the next time you’ll hit 151m and so it goes, well done!

Hey @Laisili,
Well done on getting started. A few months back I wouldn’t have been able to do 150m, and you know what, I probably would have been too scared to have tried. Well done for taking that first step.

Now, here is an offer/challenge/target for you.
The lads in the Borehamwood League have committed to do a 5k park run on 23 June.
Obviously a long haul flight wouldn’t be the best preparation for a 5k run, so how about joining us from afar and running the distance with us on that day?

Just to let you know, out of the 26 we have running, 1 has a couple of marathons under his belt, 3 are regular park runners, 3 do park runs now and again, the rest of us are complete novices… so in the same boat as you

Let me know if you are interested. You could set the MANVFAT China national record (I’ll see if @StevenHaley could provide some competition too :grimacing:). You could work alongside our C25k beginners if you want to.

One of our lads will be doing his run in Dubai, … could look to all start at 9:00am London time (treadmill if heat dictates for our international runners)

Sounds good. Can we set up some form of group or start a Forum?

I’ll put you on our whatsapp group

Drop me a message with your phone number…do you have whatsapp over there?

Add me to this also I’m in Dubai. Nice wee challenge

Here’s a simple beginner plan to build up from scratch…

What’s the absolute MAXIMUM amount of time you WANT to spend running per week?

Let’s use an example of 2 hours per week & how you want to break that up (4 sessions of 30 mins for example)

Now let’s create 3 'level’s of intensity (doesn’t have to be ruinning, could be walking, depends on the individual & how hard they feel they’re working)